The Brave, Little Ninja Goes to School in South Korea: Weeks 13 & 14

I “graduated” and my mom came to visit me!

Mon [5/22]: So this was the day of my final interview test for my class at Sogang. Last time, our speaking teacher gave us the test, but this time, a teacher from level 2 interviewed us. However, I had already met this teacher because she taught the extra pronunciation class. This test was also without a partner which I liked better. I felt I didn’t do as well as I wanted to, but it wasn’t too bad.

IMG_5949

I got this bag for having perfect attendance during the first session.

Tues: This was the day of graduation. All the morning classes were there (not just level one), and it took place in a smallish auditorium on campus. I actually don’t know what most of graduation was like because I was a part of the talent show, so I was back-stage the whole time. It seemed like a lot of formalities and pomp and circumstance for just moving up a level in my opinion. It’s like that scene from The Incredibles where Mr. Incredible is frustrated at the fact that there’s a ceremony for his son to go from fourth grade to fifth grade and describes it as “celebrating mediocrity.”

The performance went well. This was the performance of the dance class that I’d been taking these past couple months. I really enjoyed it. Many of my classmates were very surprised that it was me up there. I’m not sure why, but I think it was probably the fact I was wearing make-up—and heavy stage make-up at that.

Later that evening, most of my class got together to have Korean barbecue as a last hoorah before heading our separate ways. A good number of us are going on to level two, but some aren’t, so it was good to be able to say good-bye.

Fri: My mom came to Korea on this day! Because her flight got in in the evening, we didn’t actually do anything this day really.

IMG_6123

Sat: This day we met up with Sydney and Luke, my normal Saturday crowd, and went to the brand new Lotte [low-tay] Tower. It just opened a couple months ago and is the fifth tallest building in the world.

IMG_5993

IMG_5968

Lotte World is a theme park. You can see the waterpark down in the middle of the pond. (You can read about my visit to Lotte World here.)

IMG_5988

There is a glass floor part.

After that, we went to a baseball game. The home team was the Doosan Bears (Doosan is  a construction company) and the away team was the KT Wiz (the same team we saw play in Suwon). It was really interesting because they sat all the foreigners together. The KT Wiz has quite a few foreign fans because it’s the Suwon team and is close to one of the bigger American military bases.

IMG_5998

The KT Wiz lost horribly. Oh well.

Sun: The next day, my mom and I went with Lisa (one of the missionaries here I met last year who is also tutoring me in Korean), Sydney, and Luke to Lisa’s church. After that, we went to the Fairytale Village and the Incheon China town. Sydney and I went to all of those places when I was here last year with Lisa, but it was Luke and my mom’s first time.

IMG_6019

IMG_6024

This is the trick-eye museum. Next time, I want to go in.

IMG_6026

Incheon China town.

IMG_6013

Incheon is famous for it’s Jjajangmyeon (noodles with gravy).

IMG_6034

It’s hard to see, but this design on this building in Incheon is not painted. It’s mosaic-ed out of bottle caps.

Mon: This day we went to Seonyudo Park. This was my third time to this park, and there were a lot more flowers so it was even prettier.

We also went to see Sogang’s campus. After that we went shopping in Idae (the area around Ewha University). Then we went and saw Hongdae (the area around Hongik University) quickly.

IMG_6058

Seoul is full of these cute socks.

Tues: This day we went to Changdeokgung. I’ve been to this palace with Luke and Sydney, but we didn’t have time to go into the secret garden area. The garden was beautiful.

IMG_6059

You can get into the palace for free if you are wearing traditional clothes. These guys win all the awards because the guy in red is dressed as a king, the guy on his right is his guard, the girl on his left is dressed as a scholar, and the three in the back have normal women’s traditional clothes on except the one on the far right with the hat is a boy.

IMG_6072

This tree with its roots wrapped around one of the stones in this wall shows how long this palace has been here.

IMG_6062

IMG_6099

Is this place even real?

IMG_6084

More secret garden.

Wed: We went to Seoul Theological University. This was where I spent a good deal of my time last year as it is where the English camp was held. We ordered pizza with Lisa and Susan (the missionary and professor at STU I’m staying at).

After that Lisa gave us a tour. It was really cool because I only knew the parts of the campus that were important to the camp, so there was much of the campus I’d never seen before.

After that, we went to Coffee Bay. (Yes, Coffee Bae was there too.) After that we went to this really awesome Christian bookstore. Lisa knew some of the people who were a part of a church outreach that had an office on the second floor so we went to talk to them. There’s a possibility that I might be able to join a campus outreach Bible study at STU this organization runs where I could practice and learn Korean.

After that, we went to a traditional market near Bucheon Station.

Thurs: This day we went to the Lotte Folk Museum. This is a museum that talks about the history of Korea. There was almost no one there so we had a fun time exploring the museum by ourselves. After that we went to the aquarium in the CoEx Mall.

IMG_6126

IMG_6130

IMG_6140

There was a part of the museum where they just had a room full of super creative fishtanks.

IMG_6147

Fri: Finally the pollution dropped down to low enough that it would give us optimal viewing at Namsan Tower. I’ve walked up to the tower, taken a bus up to the tower, and now I have finally completed the third optional transportation which is taking a cable car up to the tower. It was really fun, and we must have gone at a good time because there was no line!

After that we went to Insadong. Insadong is a big shopping street for foreigners to buy souvenirs. We bought lots of awesome stuff. I was approached four times by students who were on a field trip assigned to interview foreigners as English practice.

IMG_6124

Jamsil station has a replica of the Trevi Fountain if that tells you anything about what the price range is for that area.

Sat: On this day, we met up with Luke and went to Gwanghwamun Square. We saw the King Sejong statue and went into the museum underneath. We didn’t go into Gyeongbokgung, but we went into the gate area (Gwanghwamun). Then we went into the Palace Museum that is nearby. That’s something I’ve never done. My favorite part were the old maps of the palaces and an awesome water clock.

IMG_6171

The Lotte Mall at Jamsil has a new library.

Sun:  This day, we went to the church I normally go to on Sundays near Gangnam Station. We met up with my college roommate, Bethany who also attends this church. This is an English-speaking church and is technically an English-outreach ministry of a bigger Korean church. After church we went to eat bulgogi at a restaurant nearby. After that we went to noraebang.

Mon: This was the day I took Mom to airport. I’m so grateful that she was able to come and visit me.

Please pray for my mom’s safe flight home!

I’m going to be moving in with one of the other OMS missionaries here named Monica. Her apartment is in the same complex as the one I’m staying in now so I’m not going far. Please pray that the move goes smoothly.

I’m also starting the second session on Thursday. Please pray that I get back into the groove quickly.

Next: Weeks 15, 16, and 17
Previous: Weeks 11 & 12

8 comments

  1. First of all, I love that you “graduated” … great line from The Incredible! Second, I’m just so happy for you both that your mom got to visit. What a blessing for her to experience the place that you’ve grown to love! Praying for you as you move and begin your next session of classes!

    Like

  2. I’m not even home yet and I miss you too, but I feel blessed that I got to experience Korea with you. I feel like your call to Korea is so clear, even if you can’t see the end of the journey right now. I’m proud of you and in awe of the amazing young woman God is molding you to be. Love you lots, like tater tots. Keep your eyes on Jesus!

    Like

Leave a Reply

