How to Sogang: Level 1 Summary

This will talk about how the classes are organized, what you learn in the first session, what the midterm and final exams entail, and what graduation is like.

Level 1 KGP200 (Day/Morning Class) Statistics:

  • Age: young twenties
    • The youngest in my class was 17 and the oldest was in her 30s.
  • Gender: female
    • My class was entirely girls and one of the other level 1 classes had just one boy.
  • Nationality: East Asian (Japanese)
    • Of my 13 classmates:
      • East Asia: 4
        • Japan: 3
        • Taiwan: 1
      • South-East Asia: 3
        • Thailand: 2
        • Indonesia: 1
      • Europe: 3
        • Italy: 1
        • Norway: 1
        • Sweden: 1
      • North America: 2
        • United States: 2 (including myself)
      • Middle East: 1
        • Saudi Arabia: 1
  • How long intending to study: 1 session
    • The second most common was intending to stay for 2 sessions.
  • Distance living from school: 10-15 minutes walking
    • Out of the 13 students in my class, four of them lived farther than walking distance away.
  • Type of living accommodation: goshiwon (very small, 1-room apartment, almost dorm-style)
    • Average rent: W400,000-450,000 a month

Class Organization:

  • Writing class: 1hr
    • This class doesn’t normally present any new material. It it there to reenforce what you have learned in previous classes and give you guided practice on writing.
  • Speaking class: 2hrs
    • This class is divided into two 1-hour sections. There is lots of speaking with the person next to you, the three other at the table you’re at, and with the whole class.
    • This is where most of the new information you learn is taught.
  • Listening/Reading class: 1hr
    • This class consisted of lots of listening to the prerecorded dialogues used in the book.
    • Some new information is taught in this class, but it is mostly vocabulary that is necessary to understand things in the dialogue.

First Half of the Session

Normal Present tense:
가다 -> 가요
to go -> (I) go

Normal Past tense:
가다 -> 갔어요
to go -> (I) went

Formal Present Tense:
가다 -> 갑니다
to go -> (I) go (talking to a group or someone in high authority)

Formal Past Tense:
가다 -> 갔습니다
to go -> (I) went (talking to a group or someone in high authority)

Explaining your reasons for going/coming:
왜 집에 가요? 자러 가요.
Why are you going home? I’m going for sleeping.
(It sounds kind of awkward, but I think using “for” is the best translation.)

Expressing want:
가다 -> 가고싶어요
to go -> (I) want to go

Politely commanding someone to do something:
가다 -> 가세요
to go -> please go

Politely commanding someone to not do something:
가다 -> 가지마세요
to go -> please don’t go

Particles:

  • 은/는 : topic marker
  • 이/가 : subject marker
  • 에 : location marker
    • used with times and destinations
    • 한시에 집에 가요
    • (I) go home at 1.
  • 에서 : setting marker (where the action happens)
    • 집 에서 숙제해요
    • (I) do homework at home.
  • (으)로 : via/using/by means of
    • used with directions
      • 이쪽으로 가세요.
      • Please go this way. (Please go using this way./Please go via this way.)
    • used with methods of transportation
      • 학교에 버스로 가요.
      • I go to school by bus. (I go to school via bus./I go to school using the bus.)
  • 나/이나 : “or” for things with the same verb/lists
    • 커피 나 녹차 를 마시고싶어요.
    • (I) want to drink coffee or green tea.
    • 라면 이나 김밥 을 먹고싶어요.
    • (I) want to eat ramen or kimbap.

Midterms:

  • There are four tests. Writing, speaking, reading/listening, and the interview.
  • All of the tests except the interview are completely written tests. (Yes, even the speaking test is completely written.)
  • The interview is completely verbal:
    • Is about 15 minutes long.
    • The first part is you and a randomly assigned partner must have a conversation about two of about 10 different dialogue prompts (provided earlier) for a decent amount of time. If you don’t talk long enough, the teacher will select a third prompt.
    • The second part is just you and the teacher. The possible questions the teacher can ask are provided beforehand.

Second Half:

  • Future tense
    • 내일 학교에 갈거여요.
    • Tomorrow (I) will go to school.
  • Can/can’t (for ability/opportunity)
    • 오늘 거기에 갈 수 있어요.
    • Today (I) can go to that place.
  • adjectives (before nouns)
    • 맛있는 음식 을 먹었어요.
    • (I) ate tasty food.
  • “didn’t/not” as a suffix
    • 그남자가 멋있지않아요.
    • That man isn’t cool.
  • try it
    • 그바지를 입어보세요.
    • Try those pants on.
  • 존뎃말 (chondetmal) present and past (speaking about elders/people above you)
    • 제 아버지가 책을 읽으세요.
    • My father reads books.
    • 제 아버지가 책을 읽으셨어요.
    • My father read books.
  • to know how to do something
    • 저는 테니스를 칠 줄 알아요.
    • I know how to play tennis.
  • must/to have to
    • 라면을 사야해요.
    • (I) must buy ramen.
  • “or” as a conjunction
    • 이번주말에 저는 남산 타워 가거나 집 에서 잘거여요.
    • This weekend, I will go to Namsan Tower, or I will sleep at home.
  • “and” as a conjunction
    • 이번주말에 저는 남산 타워 가고 집 에서 잘거여요.
    • This weekend, I will go to Namsan Tower, and I will sleep at home.
  • proposals/suggestions
    • 영화를 같이 볼까요.
    • Let’s watch a movie together.
  • “so” as a conjunction
    • 어제 숙제가 많아서 오늘 피곤해요.
    • Yesterday, there was a lot of homework, so today (I’m) tired.
  • can/can’t (for ability)
    • 우유를 못 마셔요
    • I can’t drink milk.
  • to plan to do something
    • 이번토요일에 인사동에 가려고 해요.
    • This Saturday, (I’m) planning to go to Insadong.
  • requesting someone to do something for you
    • 물 좀 주세요.
    • Please give (me) some water.
  • to have done something before (past perfect)
    • 인천에 가봤어요.
    • I’ve gone to Incheon.
  • comparisons
    • 현대백화점이 더 비싸요.
    • The Hyundai Department Store is more expensive.
    • 현대백화점이 다이소 보다 더 비싸요.
    • The Hyundai Department Store is more expensive than Daiso.
    • 다이소가 제일 좋아 해요.
    • I like Daiso the most.
  • Right? (assuming information)
    • 서강대학교에 다녀지요?
    • You attend Sogang University, right?
  • “but” as a conjunction
    • 제가방이 좋아하지만 작아요.
    • I like my bag, but it’s small.

Final Exam:

  • Four tests again. Writing, speaking, listening/reading, and the interview.
  • The written tests follow the same format as the midterm exam.
  • The interview is slightly different.
    • 100% 1-on-1 with the teacher.
    • The teacher giving the test is a teacher for level 2.
  • You will know your final test results often that afternoon if not the morning of the next day for sure.
  • If you fail one test, you can retake it the day after graduation, but you must get an 80% or higher.

Graduation:

  • You will come sometime around 9:30 or so to your normal classroom, and you will walk to where the graduation is with your class.
  • There the teachers give you your tests back (not to keep) so you can see what you did wrong on your written tests.
  • Graduation is pretty casual so you don’t need to dress up.
  • There will be lots of formalities that will take up most of the graduation ceremony.
  • You won’t be asked to go on stage or receive any documents.
  • There are performances by student clubs and individual students, which takes up a good amount of the time too.
  • After that, you will walk back with your teacher, and it’s probably different from class to class, but my class went back to our classroom and ate sandwiches provided by the teacher.
  • This also might be different from class to class, but my teacher gave a Sogang KLEC tote bag to the students who had perfect attendance or came everyday but missed one subject.
6 comments

    1. Most of the students are younger twenties. The youngest was 17 (graduated high school early) and the oldest was in her thirties. In one of the other level classes, there was a woman who was in her 60s though.

      Like

  1. Hello,

    thank you for a wonderful summary of what the course entails. I have enrolled in the Fall semester, and I want to book my flights.. I was wondering, is the final exam and graduation part of the final week of classes, or are there afterwards (like the extra days beforehand for placement test). Basically, I want to know if I could fly out 2 days after it says that classes finish.

    Thank you!

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading!

      Whenever it says the course ends, that is the day of graduation. (For last semester, it said classes went from March 9-May 23 and May 23 was graduation day.) However, there is a day for make-up tests the day after graduation. So you should be golden booking your flight two days after the last day of school.

      I hope you have a fun time taking the fall course!

      Like

      1. Thank you SOOOOO much for your help. I just couldn’t find that information anywhere. I can book my flights now! Thanks again!

        Like

Leave a Reply

